Tags: michigan | gun | laws | visitors | firearm

Michigan Gun Laws: Can Visitors Carry Their Firearm?

Image: Michigan Gun Laws: Can Visitors Carry Their Firearm?
Michigan flag and gun illustration. (wikimedia/commons; dreamstime)

By    |   Monday, 27 Oct 2014 11:34 AM

Visitors to and through Michigan should be familiar with gun laws that require a permit in order to concealed carry or transport a handgun in a vehicle. However, the state’s concealed pistol law expressly recognizes permits issued in other states.

The state attorney general’s website urges nonresidents carrying in Michigan to familiarize themselves with the state’s gun laws, which place strict restrictions on carrying handguns in certain public places, known as “pistol free zones.” The law also requires disclosure of a carried weapon when in the presence of a peace officer and strictly forbids any use of alcohol while carrying.

ALERT: Should Obama Have More Control Over Guns? Vote Now

Here is a list of areas that forbid carrying handguns in the state of Michigan, according to the Michigan State Patrol. It is important to note that if a gun owner with a valid permit keeps the weapon in a vehicle in a parking lot, they will not be considered in violation of the law:

1. School property.
2. Day care center, child care agency and child placement agency, public or private.
3. Sports arena or stadium.
4. A bar or tavern where the liquor by the glass is the primary source of income.
5. Any place of worship including a church, synagogue, mosque, or temple, unless the church officials allow concealed weapons.
6. Any entertainment venue with a seating capacity of at least 2,500.
7. A hospital.
8. A residence hall or classroom at a higher education institution.
9. Casinos.
10. Courtrooms and judicial buildings.

VOTE NOW: Should All Fully Automatic Rifles Be Banned?

Penalties for violating carry laws in Michigan range from $500 and a six-month CPL permit suspension for the first offense to a $1,000 fine and CPL revocation for the second offense. Penalties for third and subsequent offenses include a four-year felony, $5,000 fine, and CPL permit revocation.

As long as handguns are unloaded and locked in a container in the trunk or storage area of a vehicle, hunters with valid state hunting licenses are exempt from Michigan’s permit requirements, as are individuals who can demonstrate proof of membership in an organization with handgun shooting range facilities in the state.

This article does not constitute legal advice. Check the current gun laws of your state and destination before travel.

URGENT: Do You Support President Obama’s Plans for Stricter Gun Control? Vote Now

© 2017 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

   
1Like our page
2Share
FastFeatures
Visitors to and through Michigan should be familiar with gun laws that require a permit in order to concealed carry or transport a handgun in a vehicle. However, the state's concealed pistol law expressly recognizes permits issued in other states.
michigan, gun, laws, visitors, firearm
397
2014-34-27
Monday, 27 Oct 2014 11:34 AM
Newsmax Inc.
 

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

NEWSMAX.COM
America's News Page
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved