Tags: otto | reich | freedom | award

Otto Reich Honored With 2012 Walter Judd Freedom Award

Tuesday, 17 July 2012 10:08 AM

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) announced it will honor former Ambassador Otto Reich with its 2012 Walter Judd Freedom Award during a ceremony at the Mayflower Hotel in Washington, D.C.today.

Reich is a co-recipient with Mary Anastasia O'Grady, an editorial board member and columnist with the Wall Street Journal.

The announcement said:

"The Walter Judd Freedom Award is presented annually by The Fund for American Studies to recognize individuals who have advanced the cause of freedom in the United States and abroad, are devoted to the preservation and expansion of freedom, influential in world and national affairs, and are outspoken voices against tyranny and oppression, while embodying the characteristics of self-sacrifice and patriotism, according to the organization's announcement.

"Ambassador Reich is the former U.S. Assistant Secretary of State for Western Hemisphere Affairs and Special Envoy for Western Hemisphere Initiatives in the National Security Council under the George W. Bush Administration, and U.S. Ambassador to Venezuela under the Ronald Reagan and George H.W. Bush Administrations.

"Reich also served President Reagan as Assistant Administrator of the U.S. Agency for International Development (1981 to 1983) and as Special Advisor to Secretary of State George P. Shultz (1983 to 1986). President George H. W. Bush twice named him as the Deputy U.S. Representative to the U.N. Human Rights Commission, in Geneva, in 1991 and 1992.

"Reich is president of Otto Reich and Associates, LLC, an international business consultancy based in Washington, DC, and President of the Americas Forum, a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting freedom and prosperity in Latin America.

"Past recipients of the award include President Ronald Reagan, Ambassador Jeane Kirkpatrick, Chinese dissident and Human Rights defender Harry Wu, William F. Buckley, Ambassador John Bolton, and former Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld, who was last year's recipient.

© 2019 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

1Like our page
Tuesday, 17 July 2012 10:08 AM
Newsmax Media, Inc.

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

America's News Page
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved