Tags: morgan | pressel | wins

Golf Talk: Morgan Pressel Wins Inaugural Kapalua LPGA Classic

By    |   Thursday, 23 October 2008 08:39 AM

  • Morgan Pressel Wins Inaugural Kapalua LPGA Classic

  • Jim Furyk Owes Tiger, Wins PGA Grand Slam

  • Aronomink to Host AT&T National Tournament

  • Scotland Takes Eisenhower Trophy

  • Old Marsh Country Club Opens Despite the Economy

  • Annika Sorenstam to Deliver UA Commencement

    Morgan Pressel Wins Inaugural Kapalua LPGA Classic

    Morgan Pressel was the host and the star at the inaugural Kapalua LPGA Classic, providing one of the best finishes of the season.

    Pressel, 20, rolled in a 20-foot birdie putt off the fringe on the 18th hole Sunday to give her the victory over Suzann Pettersen — her first win of the season and second in her career.

    Pressel, who is Kapalua's tour pro, shot a 3-under 69, as did Pettersen. Pressel finished at 8-under 280, banking $225,000. The victory was her first win in 43 starts and first top-10 finish since June.

    "I was nervous out there," Pressel admitted in the press conference after the round.

    She missed a two-footer for birdie on 18 in the third round.

    "I knew what I had to do. I didn't want to go extra holes."

    Pettersen applauded Pressel on her winning and said, "You expect her to make it. You expect good players to make putts."

    Pressel won the Kraft Nabisco Championship last year to become the youngest player in tour history to win a major. Pettersen tied for second in that event in California after faltering down the stretch.

    Jim Furyk Owes Tiger, Wins PGA Grand Slam

    Jim Furyk is $600,000 richer — thanks to Tiger Woods’ knee injury.

    Furyk, winless this year on the PGA Tour, recently captured the PGA Grand Slam of golf at The Mid Ocean Club in Tucker's Town, Bermuda. The event invites the winners of the year's four majors, but Woods, who captured the U.S. Open, was unable to attend while recovering from surgery. So Furyk was asked to participate.

    Furyk birdied the final hole in regulation to tie Padraig Harrington, and then eagled the par-5 first hole, besting Harrington by a shot in the 36-hole event.

    "It's kind of a wonder that I'm even in the event to start with. So I kind of treated the week like I had nothing to lose. Rarely do I kind of go in just thinking about having fun," Furyk said after the round. "I'm usually all business, and maybe it's something to learn. I kind of kept plugging away and didn't let too many things bother me."

    Harrington was disappointed in his second straight runner-up at the tournament.

    "Obviously, I had a chance to win. I think Jim played well, solid golf through the two days, and you know, is a deserved winner, but I had opportunities," Harrington said.

    Both men shot 68-68 for a 4-under par total of 136.

    Retief Goosen, who was also invited because Harrington won two titles, shot a 71 to finish at one over. Masters champion Trevor Immelman had a 69 to end up last at five over.

    This is the second year in a row that Harrington, winner of the Open Championship and PGA this year, lost in sudden death at the event. Last year Angel Cabrera was the victor.

    It was not all bad for Harrington, though — he pocketed $300,000 and was presented with the PGA of America's Player of the Year award for 2008, the first Irishman so honored and only the second European to do so.

    Nick Faldo won the award in 1990.

    Aronomink to Host AT&T National Tournament

    The AT&T National Tournament, hosted by Tiger Woods, will be moving to Aronomink Golf Club outside of Philadelphia for the 2010 and 2011 PGA Tour events.

    Club members accepted the proposal after nearly a year of negotiations.

    The 2009 tournament will be held at Congressional Country Club in Bethesda, Md., which will undergo a complete greens renovation in 2010 as it prepares for the 2011 U.S. Open.

    Aronomink hosted the 2003 Senior PGA Championship, won by John Jacobs, and the 1962 PGA Championship, where Gary Player captured the title.

    It also was the site of the 1977 U.S. Amateur won by John Fought.

    Scotland Takes Eisenhower Trophy

    Playing in windy conditions at the Royal Adelaide Golf Club in Australia, the team from Scotland bested the field to take home the Eisenhower Trophy at the World Amateur Team Championship by nine shots.

    Callum Macaulay shot a 1-under 72 in the final round with teammate Gavin Dear carding a 75 as Scotland shot a 20-under-par total of 560. The Scotsmen entered the final round with a four-stroke advantage over the United States. Macaulay went on a tear, though, birdieing five of his first nine holes.

    The United States finished second at 569, and Sweden third at 574.

    "We got off to a slow start and made some bogey earlier, and then we were really in a hole, said U.S. captain Walter Driver, the former president of the USGA.

    "There were very testing conditions with the wind blowing hard. The Scots loved it. They played well."

    The timing of the Scottish victory was impeccable. In the first championship held in 1958 at the Old Course, St. Andrews Scotland, it was the Australians who were victorious. Fifty years later, the Scots took the trophy in Australia.

    Old Marsh Country Club Opens Despite the Economy

    Old Marsh Country Club in Wells, Maine recently opened.

    In most years that might not have that much significance, but in 2008 it flies in the face of anemic golf course development.

    Old Marsh, a Brian Silva design, is the only new course to open in New England this year. The recent financial crisis worsened the already bleak forecast as a number of high-profile constructions were put on hold while other courses shut their doors.

    In 2006 and 2007, the National Golf Foundation reported that more courses closed than opened, a sharp contrast to the early part of the decade when nearly 400 courses opened in some years.

    Annika Sorenstam to Deliver UA Commencement

    Annika Sorenstam may not have graduated from the University of Arizona, but her accomplishments since leaving the school have qualified her to address this year's December commencement. She will deliver the keynote address on Dec. 20.

    Sorenstam attended UA from 1990 to 1992 and was named the national co-player of the year in 1991. She won the 1992 Pac-10 Championship and was chosen for the 1991-92 All American team.

  • © 2019 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

    1Like our page
    Morgan Pressel Wins Inaugural Kapalua LPGA ClassicJim Furyk Owes Tiger, Wins PGA Grand SlamAronomink to Host AT&T National TournamentScotland Takes Eisenhower TrophyOld Marsh Country Club Opens Despite the EconomyAnnika Sorenstam to Deliver UA CommencementMorgan Pressel...
    Thursday, 23 October 2008 08:39 AM
    Newsmax Media, Inc.

    Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

    America's News Page
    © Newsmax Media, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved