Cheerios issued a recall for 1.8 million boxes of its gluten-free cereal produced in July 2015 after discovering that wheat flour was accidentally introduced.
According to the Associated Press
, Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios affected have the plant code "LD." The classic Cheerios affected have "better if used by" dates from July 14 to July 17, 2016, and the Honey Nut Cheerios have the dates July 12 to July 25, 2016.
In addition to its statement, Cheerios released a helpful infographic about the affected products on Twitter.
The company stated that it is in the process of converting five Cheerio varieties into gluten-free versions, and that the gluten-free oat flour system in its Lodi, California facility became contaminated with wheat flour as the result of a mix-up in the flour offloading process.
"During the dates in question, the company’s Lodi facility lost rail service, and the company’s gluten-free oat flour was off-loaded from rail cars and transferred to trucks," the company wrote.
This means that those with wheat allergies or celiac disease are at risk.
"[T]here have been reports of illness by consumers online. Two complaints of illness have been reported directly to General Mills related to the affected products," said company spokesperson Kirsite Foster, CNN Money reported
Consumers seeking to return their boxes of affected Cheerios for a full refund can call 1-800-775-8370.
© 2023 Newsmax. All rights reserved.