Tags: Donald Trump | Iran | Middle East | Trump Administration | War on Terrorism | republicans | house

3 House Republicans Join Dems, Vote for War Powers Act

matt gaetz points and speaks during congressional hearing
Rep. Matt Gaetz, R-Fla. (Steve Cannon/AP)

By    |   Thursday, 09 January 2020 07:43 PM

Just three Republican Representatives — Matt Gaetz and Francis Rooney of Florida, and Thomas Massie of Kentucky — along with the House's lone independent, Rep. Justin Amash, joined Democrats in supporting the war powers resolution directing President Donald Trump to stop the use of military force against Iran unless he obtains approval from Congress.

Eight Democrats broke ranks to oppose the measure: Joe Cunningham of South Carolina, Josh Gottheimer of New Jersey, Kendra Horn of Oklahoma, Elaine Luria of Virginia, Ben McAdams of Utah, Anthony Brindisi, Stephanie Murphy, and Max Rose, all of New York.

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., before the vote criticized the U.S. drone attack on Iranian Gen. Qassem Soleimani and said the resolution would send a clear message to Trump.

"Last week, in our view, the administration conducted a provocative disproportionate airstrike against Iran which endangered Americans, and did so without consulting Congress," Pelosi said at her weekly press conference.

Gaetz on Thursday said Congress has a say in "matters of war and peace."

"I represent more troops than any other member of this body," Gaetz said. "I buried one of them earlier today at Arlington. That sergeant died a patriot and a hero. If the members of our armed services have the courage to go and fight and die in these wars, as Congress, we ought to have the courage to vote for or against them."

A companion bill in the Senate faces an uphill climb, though Sen. Tim Kaine, D-Va., is making changes to his resolution.

"Republicans are giving us some good suggestions," Kaine said Thursday, adding, "so we're in the process of trying to develop a managers package that would get more people on board."

© 2020 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

1Like our page
Three GOP Reps. Matt Gaetz, R-Fla., Francis Rooney, R-Fla., and Thomas Massie, R-Ky., along with the House's lone independent, Rep. Justin Amash, I-Mich., joined Democrats in supporting the war powers resolution.
republicans, house, democrats, war powers
Thursday, 09 January 2020 07:43 PM
Newsmax Media, Inc.

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

America's News Page
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved