Should you find yourself gluten-intolerant (celiac disease) or needing to prepare a special gluten-free meal, here are some tips.
According to the magazine Extraordinary Health published by Garden of Life, gluten is hiding in foods that you might not suspect, including chutneys, pickles, cold cuts, sour cream, root beer, gum, instant coffee, and hot dogs.
Follow these guidelines:
• Look for products that say "gluten-free" on the label. A product labeled "wheat-free" doesn't necessarily mean it is gluten-free.
• When dining out, order foods with minimal ingredients and tell your server of your needs.
• When cooking at home, use separate utensils and other items that come in contact with foods, such as chopping boards.
• Eat fresh, unprocessed food.
• Shop health food stores for prepared gluten-free products.
You may also want to be sure your diet includes dark leafy greens and dairy products since people on a gluten-free diet may develop a deficiency in key nutrients, such as calcium, folic acid, iron, and the B vitamins.
And, check out these acceptable grains: amaranth, arrowroot, bean/nut flours, buckwheat, corn, millet, quinoa potatoes, rice, soy, sorghum, and tapioca.