Tags: Gun Control | Michigan | hunting | safety courses

Hunting in Michigan: Are Safety Courses Required to Hunt in Michigan? How Do I Pass Classes?

By    |   Saturday, 30 May 2015 04:43 PM

Michigan law requires all first-time hunters born after Jan. 1, 1960, to complete a hunter safety course prior to obtaining a Michigan hunting license. The hunter safety course has significantly reduced the number of hunting incidents in the field, according to the Michigan Department of Natural Resources.

Children under the age of 16 can apply for an apprentice license that allows them to hunt for two seasons without a license. Once the two seasons are used (they do not have to be consecutive), the hunter must take the hunter safety course and obtain a regular license to continue hunting.

ALERT: Should Obama Have More Control Over Guns? Vote Now

The hunter safety course, funded through taxes on hunting equipment, is offered three ways.

1. Traditional Classroom

Throughout the year, the Michigan Department of Natural Resources offers courses in varying locations in the state. The classroom course teaches hunter safety, regulations, ethics, game care, survival and first aid. A field test also takes place, which covers firearms safety.

Courses usually are offered in two to five sessions for a total of 10 to 12 hours. They are typically held at schools, police stations and camps.

2. Correspondence Course

Correspondence courses allow hunters to take the hunter education class at their own pace. The same material is covered in the correspondence course as other methods, and the field day requirement must also be met. Hunters are encouraged to schedule their field day early.

VOTE NOW: Is Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder Doing a Good Job?

3. Online

Online courses are offered through a number of sites, including Hunter-ed.com, HUNTERcourse.com and HunterEdCourse.com.

Fees for online courses vary depending on the vendor and typically are higher than fees for traditional classroom courses, which usually cost about $10. For example, Hunter Ed Course charges $17.99 and provides hunters with interactive lessons, narration and other features.

A field day completion is required after completing the online course and can be scheduled with the Department of Natural Resources. Hunters are advised to schedule their field day class in advance as classes fill up quickly.

This article is for information only. Please check current regulations before hunting.

URGENT: Do You Support Obama's Plans for Stricter Gun Control? Vote Now

© 2017 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

   
1Like our page
2Share
FastFeatures
Michigan law requires all first-time hunters born after Jan. 1, 1960, to complete a hunter safety course prior to obtaining a Michigan hunting license.
Michigan, hunting, safety courses
372
2015-43-30
Saturday, 30 May 2015 04:43 PM
Newsmax Inc.
 

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

NEWSMAX.COM
America's News Page
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved