Tags: Rapture | Lutherans | Protestants | Christian | Denomination | Evolution

Lutheran Evolution: 6 Key Events for Protestant Christian Denomination Since It Began

By    |   Friday, 06 February 2015 05:32 PM

The Lutheran Church was founded by Martin Luther in the 16th century and he is considered one of the most influential theologians in Christian history. Luther is known as the "Father of the Reformation" because he significantly challenged the papal supremacy of the Catholic Church, and his actions, along with other reformers led to the development of the Protestant Christian denomination.

Here are six key events in the evolution of the Protestant Lutheran denomination:

ALERT: When Do You Think Christ Is Returning? Vote Now

1. After the death of Martin Luther in 1546, war broke out between Emperor Charles V of the Holy Roman Empire and the Lutheran Shmalkaldic League, which was an alliance of Lutheran princes. Rome prevailed in the war but the teachings of Martin Luther were prevalent and powerful and they could not be quelled by force. Protestant princes began a second revolt in 1552, and in 1555, Emperor Charles V issued the Peace of Augsburg, a treaty that gave Lutheranism official status with the Holy Roman Empire.

2. After the 16th century formation of the Lutheran Church in Germany, Lutheranism spread into the Scandinavian countries of Norway, Denmark, Finland, Iceland and Sweden as well as the Baltic countries of Estonia and Latvia.

3. In 1580, the Book of Concord was published. The Concord is the historic doctrinal standard of the Lutheran Church and contains the three ecumenical creeds: The Apostles' Creed, the Athanasian Creed, and the Nicene Creed. It also contains the confessions of the Lutheran Church: The Augsburg Confession, the Apology of the Augsburg Confession, the Schmalkald Articles, the Larger and Smaller Catechisms of Luther, and the Formula of Concord.

VOTE NOW: Is Christ Returning?

4. In the 17th century, Lutherans began migrating from Europe to the United States and they began to form "synods" or churches. The Emmanuel Lutheran Church of Ohio states, "Among the first to come were Swedish Lutherans who settled in “New Sweden” along the Delaware River (in what is today the state of Delaware) during the 1630s. Another small group of Lutherans settled about the same time in "New Amsterdam" in what would become New York City."

5. On January 1, 1988, three American synods, the American Lutheran Church, the Association of Evangelical Lutheran Churches and the Lutheran Church in America, merged to become the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), according to Religion Facts.

6. In August 1997, the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America declared full communion with the United Church of Christ, the Reformed Church of America, and the Presbyterian Church-USA. According to Religious Tolerance, "Full communion is not a plan to merge. The separate denominations continue to exit. The agreement does commit the churches to share in their mission to work locally and internationally and to develop procedures whereby clergy in one church body may serve as pastor in a church of another church body. The individual denominations will remain free to disagree on various issues."

URGENT: When Do You Think Christ Will Return? Vote Here Now!

Related Stories:

© 2018 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

1Like our page
The Lutheran Church was founded by Martin Luther in the 16th century and he is considered one of the most influential theologians in Christian history.
Lutherans, Protestants, Christian, Denomination, Evolution
Friday, 06 February 2015 05:32 PM
Newsmax Media, Inc.

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

America's News Page
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved