Tags: Gun Control | louisiana | gun laws | gun control

Louisiana Gun Laws and How They Differ From Neighboring States

Image: Louisiana Gun Laws and How They Differ From Neighboring States
State Capitol of Louisiana at Baton Rouge. (Anne Power/Dreamstime.com)

By    |   Wednesday, 01 Apr 2015 05:01 PM

The southern states value their right to gun ownership and Louisiana is no different. Although Louisiana’s neighboring states embrace gun ownership, they do have varying laws in relation to firearm possession.

ALERT: Should Obama Have More Control Over Guns? Vote Now

1. No Registration. Louisiana and Texas do not require residents to register their firearm. Where the states differ is in terms of possession. Louisiana is considered an open carry state, whereas possession of your firearm in public, out in the open, is illegal in Texas. Texans may carry their weapon on their own property or if they are hunting, but carrying a holstered weapon on your hip is against the law.

Neither state has a waiting period for purchasing a gun or a ban against assault weapons.

2. Reciprocity. Mississippi, Louisiana and Oklahoma recognize open carry statutes and abide by reciprocity agreements when it comes to recognizing permits from another state. All three are open carry states. None of the aforementioned has a limit on assault weapons or magazines.

VOTE NOW: Is Louisiana Sen. Bill Cassidy Doing a Good Job?

3. Restrictions. Mississippi can prohibit an individual from owning a gun if they are physically handicapped in a manner that they cannot handle a firearm properly. Additional restrictions are also placed on those who are deemed substance abusers or considered mentally ill. Individuals must also be 21 years of age to carry a concealed weapon. Silencers are also illegal in the state of Mississippi, unless federal law approves them.


4. Constitutional Carry. Arkansas, Louisiana’s northern neighbor, does not permit open carry. Arkansas does require a concealed-carry permit for concealed weapons. The state is one of five that has tried to operate under the guise of “Constitutional carry.” The 2013 law put the burden on the accuser to prove someone has criminal intent when using a firearm.

Interpretation of Arkansas “Constitutional carry” provision has been controversial, however. Anyone open carrying without a permit could be subjected to contact by the police and arrested. The state statute remains up in the air and is likely to come under judicial scrutiny in the near future.

Arkansas, like its neighbors, does recognize permits issued in other states.

5. Weapon Bans. Louisiana, Texas, Arkansas, and Oklahoma all ban the possession of firearms within school zones and certain public places, such as courthouses and establishments serving alcoholic beverages that account for more than 50 percent of their revenue.

This article does not constitute legal advice. Check the current gun laws before purchasing or traveling with a firearm.

URGENT: Do You Support Obama's Plans for Stricter Gun Control? Vote Now

© 2017 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

   
1Like our page
2Share
FastFeatures
The southern states value their right to gun ownership and Louisiana is no different. Although Louisiana’s neighboring states embrace gun ownership, they do have varying laws in relation to firearm possession.
louisiana, gun laws, gun control
434
2015-01-01
Wednesday, 01 Apr 2015 05:01 PM
Newsmax Inc.
 

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

NEWSMAX.COM
America's News Page
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved