Tags: Global Warming | keystone xl | pipeline | vote | virginia | senators

How Did Virginia Senators Vote in Narrow Defeat of Keystone XL Pipeline?

By    |   Tuesday, 13 October 2015 05:26 PM

Virginia's two Democratic Sens. Tim Kaine and Mark Warner disagreed on the issue of whether to build the Keystone XL oil pipeline.

Kaine voted against the Keystone XL pipeline, a 1,179-mile structure that would move oil from Alberta, Canada to Steele City, Nebraska, via Montana and South Dakota, believing it would further harm the environment.

"Our national goal should be to generate energy cleaner tomorrow than we do today, not to embrace tar sands oil that is 15 percent to 20 percent more pollution-intensive than conventional oil," Kaine said in a January 2015 statement, after the vote to approve the pipeline.

"Instead of accelerating the use of tar sands oil, we should grow our economy by embracing cleaner energy (e.g., natural gas, wind, solar) developed through American innovation," said Kaine.

Are You Concerned About Global Warming?

In remarks before the vote, Kaine spoke for more than 10 minutes about his opposition to the pipeline.

"Why embrace dirty energy when America is in the midst of a clean energy revolution?" he asked. "That is the primary reason that I oppose Keystone."

The issue of whether to construct the pipeline has remained dormant since the Senate failed to override a March 2015 veto from President Barack Obama. The Keystone XL was initially defeated in November 2014, but a new Republican Congress approved it in January, sending it to the president's desk.

Obama then used the third veto of his presidency. The motion to disregard that action went 62-37, five votes short of the required 67, or two-thirds majority.

Warner was one of nine Democrats to cast a ballot to override Obama's veto, along with Joe Manchin (West Virginia), Heidi Heitkamp (N.D.), Bob Casey (Pennsylvania), Joe Donnelly (Indiana), Claire McCaskill (Missouri), Michael Bennet (Colorado), Tom Carper (Delaware), and Jon Tester (Montana).

Warner, who narrow defeated Republican Ed Gillespie to win re-election, is a co-sponsor of the Senate bill introduced by North Dakota's John Hoeven.

"My record on Keystone is clear: I support the pipeline. After six years of study and debate, it's time to approve this project and get on with it," Warner told The Roanoke Times in  November 2014.

URGENT: Do You Think Global Warming Is a Hoax? Vote Here Now!

Related Stories:

© Mike Reagan

1Like our page
Virginia's two Democratic Sens. Tim Kaine and Mark Warner disagreed on the issue of whether to build the Keystone XL oil pipeline.
keystone xl, pipeline, vote, virginia, senators
Tuesday, 13 October 2015 05:26 PM
Newsmax Media, Inc.

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

America's News Page
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved