Tags: Gun Control | hunting | wyoming | safety | courses | classes

Hunting in Wyoming: Are Safety Courses Required to Hunt in Wyoming? How Do I Pass Classes?

By    |   Friday, 12 Feb 2016 02:39 PM

Like most states, Wyoming requires would-be hunters to pass safety education courses. The Hunter Safety Education certificate is mandatory for anyone born on or after Jan. 1, 1986. The certificate is accepted by other states that require similar education.

Here are some tips and facts about Wyoming’s safety coursework for hunting.

1. Thanks to the Internet, the required classroom education portion can be taken online at hunter-ed.com. Several state-approved private organizations offer online courses for a fee.

ALERT: Should Obama Have More Control Over Guns? Vote Now

2. Online courses take up to six hours to complete but applicants can go at their own speed. Traditional classroom courses are 12 to 18 hours of instruction.

3. Students must pass a 50-question written test with a score of 70 percent or greater. Attitude and cooperation during classes is also part of the grade. After the classroom portion is completed, applicants must take a field test with live firearm shooting. Passing grades are based on the student’s knowledge of firearm safety and handling.

4. A Hunter Safety Education course must cover several topics required by the state Game and Fish Department. Students learn about the responsibilities of hunters toward private landowners and other hunters. Ethics, wildlife conservation, and firearm safety are also covered.

In addition, students must learn Wyoming’s statutes and regulations governing wildlife hunting as well as how to identify and retrieve game. For instance, a wildlife class will cover safety and regulations when hunting in bear and mountain lion country. Traditions and history of Wyoming’s management of wildlife and habitat will be taught.

Courses in preparation and survival skills will touch on first aid and coping with cold weather. Students will be taught how to read topographic maps and compasses.

URGENT: Do You Support Obama's Plans for Stricter Gun Control? Vote Now

5. A Hunter Education Course Manual is available to help applicants prepare for the course. Copies are available for download at the Game and Fish Department’s website.

6. Once the course is passed, a temporary certificate is issued. The certificate is valid for two weeks. A permanent certification card can then be downloaded and printed from the Game and Fish website.

© 2017 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

   
1Like our page
2Share
FastFeatures
Like most states, Wyoming requires would-be hunters to pass safety education courses. The Hunter Safety Education certificate is mandatory for anyone born on or after Jan. 1, 1986. The certificate is accepted by other states that require similar education.
hunting, wyoming, safety, courses, classes
365
2016-39-12
Friday, 12 Feb 2016 02:39 PM
Newsmax Inc.
 

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

NEWSMAX.COM
America's News Page
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved