Tags: Allergies | Communion | breads | gluten | Vatican

Communion Breads Can't Be Gluten-Free: Vatican

Image: Communion Breads Can't Be Gluten-Free: Vatican
(Copyright Dreamstime)

Wednesday, 12 Jul 2017 10:16 AM

Unleavened bread used in the celebration of Mass cannot be completely gluten-free, the Vatican says.

The policy outlined in a directive dated June 15 states that truly gluten-free altar breads made with rice, potato, tapioca or other flours in place of wheat are not allowed. There must be at least a trace amount of gluten, a protein that occurs naturally in wheat, The New York Times reported.

A similar position was adopted by the Church of England, while some other Christian denominations consider gluten-free breads acceptable.

People with celiac disease are vulnerable to even small amounts of gluten.

© HealthDay

 
1Like our page
2Share
Health-News
Unleavened bread used in the celebration of Mass cannot be completely gluten-free, the Vatican says.The policy outlined in a directive dated June 15 states that truly gluten-free altar breads made with rice, potato, tapioca or other flours in place of wheat are not allowed....
Communion, breads, gluten, Vatican
98
2017-16-12
Wednesday, 12 Jul 2017 10:16 AM
Newsmax Inc.
 

The information presented on this website is not intended as specific medical advice and is not a substitute for professional medical treatment or diagnosis. Read Newsmax Terms and Conditions of Service.

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

NEWSMAX.COM
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved