Tags: Gun Control | South Carolina | hunting | courses

Hunting in South Carolina: Are Safety Courses Required to Hunt in South Carolina?

By    |   Wednesday, 03 Jun 2015 08:36 PM

For those considering hunting in the South Carolina, certification of completion from a hunter education course is required. The course teaches a potential hunter the responsibility and ethics of hunting along with firearms safety, according to the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources Hunter Education Program.

ALERT: Should Obama Have More Control Over Guns? Vote Now

After passing the safety course, residents of South Carolina and nonresidents who want to hunt in South Carolina will be issued a hunter education card. All residents and nonresidents born after June 30, 1979, are required to complete the course before a hunting license can be obtained. SCDNR accepts hunter education certifications issued by other U.S. states and Canadian provinces.

There are two options available for taking the course: instructor-led classes and the online self-study course. The SCDNR prefers that hunters take the instructor-led classroom course. The free eight-hour course may be taken in one day or split into two evenings. The online self-study course is offered by Hunter-ed.com and is the only approved Internet course for South Carolina. Hunter-Ed.com offers daily (including weekend) live customer service by email or telephone with a toll-free number. It includes a study guide and the South Carolina hunters' laws and regulations.

VOTE NOW: Is South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley Doing a Good Job?

According to SCDNR, there are three steps to complete the online course. The first is to take the course online. Then, take and pass the exam online at the end of the course. Finally, print your South Carolina Temporary Hunter Education Certificate after passing the online test. The temporary certificate is valid for 30 days. Your permanent certificate should arrive by mail in two to three weeks.

According Hunter-ed.com, which administers the online course, there is no charge to study the course material. You are allowed two chances to take the exam and pay for it upon passing. Hunter-ed.com notes that you must be a South Carolina resident and at least 12 years old to take the online course.

Hunter-ed.com also notes that all states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept South Carolina hunter education certifications. Since states have begun requiring hunter education, which is approximately 30 years, hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased, Hunter-ed.com says.

This article is for information only. Please check current regulations before hunting.

URGENT: Do You Support Obama's Plans for Stricter Gun Control? Vote Now

Related Stories:

© 2017 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

 
1Like our page
2Share
FastFeatures
For those considering hunting in the South Carolina, certification of completion from a hunter education course is required. The course teaches a potential hunter the responsibility and ethics of hunting along with firearms safety.
South Carolina, hunting, courses
440
2015-36-03
Wednesday, 03 Jun 2015 08:36 PM
Newsmax Inc.
 

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

NEWSMAX.COM
America's News Page
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved