Tags: nc | gun laws | gun control | background check

NC Gun Laws Provide Interesting Case Nationally

Image: NC Gun Laws Provide Interesting Case Nationally
(wikimedia/commons)

By    |   Sunday, 23 Nov 2014 05:59 PM

Gun control laws in America differ among states. California and New York impose strict ownership regulations, while North Carolina is more lenient with regard to a citizen's right to carry.

North Carolinians are required to obtain a permit to buy and carry a concealed handgun, which they can as long as they are at least 21 years old, a U.S. citizen, and have lived in the state for at least 30 days. The applicant must also be absent of any physical or mental limitations that could prevent the safe handling of a handgun and must never have been convicted of a violent crime.

ALERT: Should Obama Have More Control Over Guns? Vote Now

In addition, an applicant must complete a sanctioned firearms safety and training course, which includes actually firing a weapon. A state-issued permit is valid for five years, and a permittee must apply for renewal at least 30 days before expiration.

The permit doesn't allow a person to carry a concealed gun on public or private school property, most government buildings, or any other place prohibited by federal law. No state permit is needed to buy a rifle or shotgun, or ammunition.

According to the Crime Prevention Research Center, North Carolina has issued 570,464 concealed carry permits as of May 2014, behind Florida (1.28 million), Pennsylvania (872,277), Texas (708,048), and Georgia (600,000). Also, 7.54 percent of North Carolina adults have a permit, good for 11th in the U.S.

In December 2013, the Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence, ranked North Carolina 20th out of the 50 states, based on a national analysis of 30 gun-related laws, including gun sales, ammunition restrictions, and mental health stipulations, putting N.C. in the top half. In these rankings, the top state (California), is considered to have the country's toughest gun-control legislation.

VOTE NOW: Should All Fully Automatic Rifles Be Banned?

Still, North Carolina received an "F" from the Law Center
, in large part due to "NC H 937," which "allows firearms to be brought into bars, assemblies, vehicles in state government parking areas, and vehicles on educational property (including K-12 and university and college campuses); allows employee who resides on grounds of an institution of higher education to possess a firearm in residence; further restricts local authority to regulate firearms, strengthens law against permitting children to use firearms; requires submission of mental health records to NICS."

Seventeen states and Washington, D.C. have expanded the federal background check requirement to include some private transactions. North Carolina is one of four states, along with Iowa, Michigan, and Nebraska, that require any handgun buyer, including one from an unlicensed seller, to obtain a permit issued after a background check.

This article does not constitute legal advice. Check the current gun laws of your state and destination before travel.

URGENT: Do You Support President Obama’s Plans for Stricter Gun Control? Vote Now

© 2017 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

 
1Like our page
2Share
FastFeatures
Gun control laws in America differ among states. California and New York impose strict ownership regulations, while North Carolina is more lenient with regard to a citizen's right to carry.
nc, gun laws, gun control, background check
477
2014-59-23
Sunday, 23 Nov 2014 05:59 PM
Newsmax Inc.
 

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

NEWSMAX.COM
America's News Page
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved