Tags: Minimum Wage | US State Facts | Mississippi | minimum wage | facts

Minimum Wage: 4 Facts About Mississippi's Minimum Wage

By    |   Saturday, 05 Dec 2015 10:40 PM

One of five states that doesn’t have state minimum wage laws, Mississippi observes the federal minimum wage laws. Minimum wage workers in the Magnolia State make $7.25 an hour.

Here are four facts about the Magnolia State's minimum wage.

1. No State Minimum Wage
In addition to Mississippi, the other states that don’t have minimum wage laws are South Carolina, Tennessee, Alabama, and Louisiana, according to the U.S. Department of Labor.

Urgent: Do You Think the Minimum Wage Should Be Raised?

2. Exemptions
Mississippi has three different wage exemptions, according to MinimumWage.org. For those under age 20, federal law allows any employer in Mississippi to pay a new employee a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment. Tipped employees can be paid $2.13 an hour, but need to make at least $7.25 an hour with tips factored into the wage. The final exemption is for full-time high school or college students that work part-time. They can be paid 85 percent of the state’s minimum wage, which is $6.16, for up to 20 hours of work at certain employers.

3. Poverty
Mississippi minimum wage workers are near the poverty line. A full-time minimum wage worker earns $15,080 a year, according to MinimumWage.org. The federal poverty line for two people is $14,570.

4. Gender
Women make up the majority of minimum wage workers. Almost six in 10 minimum wage workers in Mississippi are women, according to National Women’s Law Center. They explain that there is no scheduled increase for minimum wage workers until the federal government decided to raise the minimum wage. They also noted that nationally women make up two-thirds of the tipped employees, which only make $2.13 an hour and then have to make up the difference through tips.

VOTE NOW: Is Mississippi Sen. Thad Cochran Doing a Good Job?

© 2017 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

 
1Like our page
2Share
FastFeatures
One of five states that doesn't have state minimum wage laws, Mississippi observes the federal minimum wage laws. Minimum wage workers in the Magnolia State make $7.25 an hour.
Mississippi, minimum wage, facts
309
2015-40-05
Saturday, 05 Dec 2015 10:40 PM
Newsmax Inc.
 

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

NEWSMAX.COM
America's News Page
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved