Tags: Gun Control | Maine | hunting | safety courses

Hunting in Maine: Are Safety Courses Required to Hunt in Maine? How Do I Pass Classes?

By    |   Monday, 01 Jun 2015 03:54 PM

The state of Maine issues two major types of hunting licenses to hunters age 16 and older: firearms and archery. Each requires either completion of a safety course or proof that the hunter has previously held a license to hunt with that specific type of weapon.

Here are more facts concerning licensing and safety courses for hunting in Maine.

ALERT: Should Obama Have More Control Over Guns? Vote Now

1. How do I get a license?
Maine resident landowners may hunt on their own farms without a license if the land is larger than 10 acres. Otherwise, hunters require a current license. To obtain a general hunting license, adults 16 and older must either pass an approved firearms safety course or show proof that they have previously held a firearms hunting license at any time since 1976. To get an archery license, adults must either pass an approved archery education class or show proof they have previously held an archery license at any time since 1979, as stated in the licensing requirements of Maine’s Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife.

2. How much does a license cost?
Pricing for adult licenses and permits varies widely depending on resident, nonresident or alien status; types of game; and types of weapons. An adult Maine resident can pay as much as $200 annually for a license “superpack,” for example.

3. Are there any restrictions on licensing?
Convicted felons can’t get a general hunting license unless they can show a permit to carry a firearm issued through Maine’s Department of Public Safety. Youth hunters between ages 10 and 15 may hunt only when accompanied by an adult supervisor after first obtaining a junior hunting license, according to the Maine Hunting & Trapping Guide.

VOTE NOW: Is Maine Gov. Paul LePage Doing a Good Job?

Adults who haven’t passed a safety test or previously held a hunting license are eligible for an apprenticeship license, but not for more than two years. Adults with an apprenticeship license cannot hunt unless accompanied by a qualified adult supervisor.

4. What do the hunter safety courses include?
Safety courses for general hunting and archery licenses are held in schools, lodges, fire stations and other specified locations throughout the state.

As outlined by the IF&W, the 12-hour Firearms Hunter Safety Course includes components in rifle and shotgun, proper handling, hunter responsibility, survival/first aid, map and compass, and landowner Relationships. The 10-hour Archery Hunter Education Course covers safety, laws, equipment, survival/first aid, map and compass, ethics, and landowner relationships.

Typically, each of these two courses combines classroom instruction, homework and fieldwork. Course completion requires passage of a final written exam.

This article is for information only. Please check current regulations before hunting.

URGENT: Do You Support Obama's Plans for Stricter Gun Control? Vote Now

© 2017 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

 
1Like our page
2Share
FastFeatures
The state of Maine issues two major types of hunting licenses to hunters age 16 and older: firearms and archery. Each requires either completion of a safety course or proof that the hunter has previously held a license to hunt with that specific type of weapon.
Maine, hunting, safety courses
465
2015-54-01
Monday, 01 Jun 2015 03:54 PM
Newsmax Inc.
 

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

NEWSMAX.COM
America's News Page
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved