Tags: Gun Control | hunting in tennessee | permit | kids

Hunting in Tennessee: 4 Things to Know Before Applying for a Hunting Permit for Your Kids

By    |   Thursday, 04 Jun 2015 12:29 PM

Hunting in Tennessee is held dear in the hearts of many residents, and many hunting enthusiasts like to introduce their children to hunting from a young age. Due to the popularity of hunting with children, the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency has an entire webpage devoted to kids.

The Just for Kids page includes special announcements; a section showing upcoming “Young Sportsman Hunts;” “Wildernuts,” a hunting comic for kids; TWRA youth program information; and many kid-friendly links to websites that are specific to hunting, the outdoors, and the state of Tennessee.

ALERT: Should Obama Have More Control Over Guns? Vote Now

Because hunting is so popular with children in Tennessee, it is worthwhile for parents to understand what is involved in applying for a license and hunting permit for children. These four items will help educate parents of prospective child hunters.

1. Before they can hunt, each child older than 10 needs to have a Hunter Education Certificate. To receive this certificate, the child needs to participate in the Tennessee Hunter Education Program and take classes to learn about safety procedures and laws regarding firearms and hunting.

2. If a child is under 10 years old, he or she does “not need a Hunter Education Certificate, but must be accompanied by an adult at least 21 years of age, who must remain in a position to take immediate control of the hunting device,” according to the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency website.

VOTE NOW: Is Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam Doing a Good Job?

3. Each child also needs a hunting license. This can take the form of a “Lifetime Sportsman License,” which is a hunting license valid for an individual’s entire life. These licenses can be purchased as soon as a child is born, allowing them the freedom to begin hunting at a very young age.

4. If a child is not ready to take and pass the hunter education course
, an “Apprentice Hunting License” is available for Tennessee residents 10 years of age and older. “This license can be purchased from the TWRA and allows the holder to hunt for up to one year without completing the required hunter education course. The apprentice hunting license can only be purchased once within an individual's lifetime, and expires at the end of the license year. While hunting with an apprentice license, the license holder must be under the direct supervision of an adult (21 years or older) who has completed the required hunter education course.”

This article is for information only. Please check current regulations before hunting.

URGENT: Do You Support Obama's Plans for Stricter Gun Control? Vote Now

Related Stories:

© 2017 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

 
1Like our page
2Share
FastFeatures
Hunting in Tennessee is held dear in the hearts of many residents, and many hunting enthusiasts like to introduce their children to hunting from a young age. Due to the popularity of hunting with children, the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency has an entire webpage devoted to kids.
hunting in tennessee, permit, kids
465
2015-29-04
Thursday, 04 Jun 2015 12:29 PM
Newsmax Inc.
 

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

NEWSMAX.COM
America's News Page
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved