Tags: Gun Control | hunting in louisiana

Hunting in Louisiana: Are Safety Courses Required to Hunt in Louisiana? How Do I Pass Classes?

By    |   Monday, 25 May 2015 02:51 PM

Safety when hunting is vital. In Louisiana, all hunters are required to purchase a hunting license each season, but one cannot be bought without being in possession of a valid Hunter Education Card.

ALERT: Should Obama Have More Control Over Guns? Vote Now

The Louisiana Hunter Education Course is run by the state via the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF). The course is designed not just for hunter safety, but to be of vital importance to all those with an interest in firearms, conservation, and hunting. The aim of the course is to reduce hunting-related accidents, but it also educates hunters in ethics, conservation, outdoor safety, and responsible behavior when in the wilderness.

All those born after 1969 are required under state law to take hunter education classes. Classes are open to everyone age 10 or over, but those under 12 can only hunt under supervision, even after passing the hunter education course. Kids under 10 who take the course will need to complete the course again once they turn 10. Active members of the armed forces or veterans may apply for an exemption, as can those law enforcement officers certified to carry weapons.

Courses to qualify for a Hunter Education Card in Louisiana are available in two options.

VOTE NOW: Do You Support a Ban on All Fully Automatic Rifles?

Option one of the course is a 10-hour classroom module, which usually takes the student two to three days to complete fully. The home-study option of the course, which is only for those aged 14 or over, can be done at the students own time but both options include a written exam for the hunter to complete. Subjects covered in the study program include, hunting safety, firearm use, animal identification, survival skills, field dressing, and principals of good wildlife management.

After successful completion of the exam, students in both options must do the live-fire format at an approved range. At the range, hunters will learn sight management, marksmanship, gun safety, about safe transport of weaponry and respect for other shooters.

There is no charge for the classroom section, nor is there one for the range day. A charge of $15 applies to those opting to do the course online.

Upon successful completion of the courses and after passing all relevant range practice, a participant qualifies for the issuing of Hunter Education Card. Registration for the classroom course is available at Register-Ed.com, and for those wishing to take the online option information is available at Hunter-Ed.com.

This article is for information only. Please check current regulations before hunting.

URGENT: Do You Support Obama's Plans for Stricter Gun Control? Vote Now

© 2017 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

 
1Like our page
2Share
FastFeatures
Safety when hunting is vital. In Louisiana, all hunters are required to purchase a hunting license each season, but one cannot be bought without being in possession of a valid Hunter Education Card.
hunting in louisiana
442
2015-51-25
Monday, 25 May 2015 02:51 PM
Newsmax Inc.
 

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

NEWSMAX.COM
America's News Page
© Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved