Tags: commercial | space | flight

SpaceX Dragon Capsule Released, Heads Home

Thursday, 31 May 2012 06:29 AM

 

Share:
  Comment  |
   Contact Us  |
  Print  
|  A   A  
  Copy Shortlink

Astronauts aboard the International Space Station released Space Exploration Technologies' unmanned Dragon cargo capsule on Thursday, the last milestone for a pioneering commercial test flight.

Dragon was the first privately owned spaceship to reach the space station, a project of 15 nations. It is scheduled to splash down in the Pacific Ocean southwest of Los Angeles at 11:44 a.m. EDT (1544 GMT).

Space Exploration Technologies, or SpaceX, is one of two firms hired by NASA to fly cargo to the station following the retirement of the space shuttles last year.

Using the station's robot arm, astronauts detached the capsule from its berthing port at 4:07 a.m. EDT (0807 GMT) and released it at 5:49 EDT (0949 GMT) as the spacecraft sailed 250 miles above Earth.

© 2014 Thomson/Reuters. All rights reserved.

Share:
  Comment  |
   Contact Us  |
  Print  
  Copy Shortlink
Around the Web
Join the Newsmax Community
Please review Community Guidelines before posting a comment.
>> Register to share your comments with the community.
>> Login if you are already a member.
blog comments powered by Disqus
 
Email:
Retype Email:
Country
Zip Code:
Privacy: We never share your email.
 
Hot Topics
Follow Newsmax
Like us
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Add us
on Google Plus
Around the Web
Top Stories
You May Also Like

Imam to Hannity: Sharia Law Is 'Coming to a Place Near You'

Wednesday, 27 Aug 2014 23:11 PM

Controversial London Imam Anjem Choudary had a heated argument with Fox News Channel's Sean Hannity on the latter's show . . .

Missouri Governor Names New Public Safety Director

Wednesday, 27 Aug 2014 22:35 PM

Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon on Wednesday appointed a new state public safety director, giving his administration its only bl . . .

Stifling Free Speech? California Looks to Ban Confederate Flag

Wednesday, 27 Aug 2014 22:16 PM

California is looking to bar the "Stars and Bars." A bill sits on Gov. Jerry Brown's desk to ban California from display . . .

Most Commented

Newsmax, Moneynews, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, NewsmaxWorld, NewsmaxHealth, are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

 
NEWSMAX.COM
America's News Page
©  Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved