Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees Include Madonna, John Mellencamp

Image: Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees Include Madonna, John Mellencamp John Mellencamp, left, and Madonna.

Thursday, 10 Oct 2013 08:38 AM

By Clyde Hughes

  Comment  |
   Contact Us  |
|  A   A  
  Copy Shortlink
Songwriters Hall of Fame voters will get to decide if Madonna, John Mellencamp and the Led Zeppelin tandem of Robert Plant and Jimmy Page will join the 2014 class of inductees.

They are among a number of big name performers and those who prefer to be behind the scenes of some of the biggest musical hits who were nominated. They include Ray Davies, Sade, Cyndi Lauper, and Linda Perry, according to The Associated Press which obtained an advance list of nominees.

The wire service said an official announcement of the nominations will be made Thursday. A gala honoring the Class of 2014 will be held in New York June 12.

Editor's Note: ObamaCare Is Here. Are You Prepared?

Performing nominees also include top acts like Heart's Ann and Nancy Wilson, Vince Gill, Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards, Donovan, Cat Stevens and Harry Wayne Casey.

The AP reported that nonperforming songwriter nominees included Jim Weatherly, who wrote "Midnight Train to Georgia" for Gladys Knight and the Pips; Motown songwriter William "Mickey" Stevenson, and country music songwriters Bobby Braddock and Bill Anderson.

Braddock and Anderson are already members of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame, being inducted there in 1981 and 1975, respectively, according the Nashville Songwriters Foundation.

Also making the nonperformers nominee list were Mark James, who wrote "Always on My Mind," Don Robertson, Graham Gouldman and Tony Macaulay. Writing teams Hugo & Luigi, Sandy Linzer and Denny Randell, and Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham made the nomination list as well, according to the Associated Press.

Class of 2013 included the songwriting teams of Aerosmith's Steven Tyler and Joe Perry, and Foreigner's Mick Jones and Lou Gramm, along with 1960s hit maker Tony Hatch, The Eagles collaborator J.D. Souther and 1980s songwriter Holly Knight, according to the hall's website.

Eligible hall voters will select two nominees from the list of songwriter-performers and three nonperforming songwriters with voting ending Dec. 16.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame was created in 1969 to recognize the accomplishments of songwriters and their contributions to the music industry.

Editor's Note: Do You Support Obamacare? Vote in Urgent National Poll

Related stories:

Miley Cyrus, Britney Spears Collaboration? Songwriter Says Yes

America Mourns Death of Two Legendary Songwriters

© 2014 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

  Comment  |
   Contact Us  |
  Copy Shortlink
Send me more news as it happens.
Get me on The Wire
Send me more news as it happens.
Around the Web
Retype Email:
Zip Code:
Hot Topics
Follow Newsmax
Like us
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Add us
on Google Plus

Newsmax, Moneynews, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, NewsmaxWorld, NewsmaxHealth, are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

America's News Page
©  Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved