For Facebook users who don't have the heart to defriend that pesky poster, the social network is introducing an "Unfollow" button.
The change really just replaces the old "Hide All From User" option with the more concise "Unfollow."
"This means you are still friends, but updates from that person won't appear in your News Feed," Facebook said in an email to TechCrunch
. "The goal of this change is to help people curate their News Feeds and see more of the content that they care about."
Urgent: Do You Approve Or Disapprove of President Obama's Job Performance? Vote Now in Urgent Poll
Facebook started rolling out the new button Monday. To "Unfollow" someone, simply click the small drop-down arrow on the upper-right corner of any post on your News Feed and select "Unfollow." Programmers also added a "Following" icon next to the "Like" button on pages and next to "Friends" on timelines.
Facebook assures users that the unfollowed person won't receive a notification that they've been hidden.
Many critics note that this new feature is a tiny step closer to the "Dislike" button that users have been clamoring for, albeit much more passive-aggressive.
"The 'Unfollow' option is the much the less confrontational way of making someone disappear, since they won't be notified of your secret vote of disinterest and will still see you in their friends list," NBC News reported.
Users are generally receptive to the "Unfollow" feature.
"Good. Great decision," one person commented on Mashable.com
. "I love my aunt and only way to connect is Facebook but I don't want to read all of her political rants like I know she doesn't want to see all my postings of consumer reviews."
Editor's Note: ObamaCare Is Here. Are You Prepared?
© 2016 Newsmax. All rights reserved.