What You'll See During Supersonic Skydive

Monday, 08 Oct 2012 04:17 PM

 

Share:
  Comment  |
   Contact Us  |
  Print  
|  A   A  
  Copy Shortlink

When Felix Baumgartner makes his 23-mile supersonic skydive over southeastern New Mexico Tuesday morning, more than two dozen high-definition and high-resolution digital cameras will be recording the event. Some views will be streamed live, but with a 20-second delay.

WHAT WILL YOU SEE?

Video and still cameras attached to the capsule will record his jump. Cameras on his pressure suit, a helicopter and ground-based tracking system will capture his descent.

HOW MANY CAMERAS?

Some 30 video and still cameras in total, including five attached to the thighs and chest of his pressure suit.

WILL THE FEED BE LIVE?

Organizers of the Red Bull-sponsored event are promising a live feed through their web site, http://www.redbullstratos.com/ live from all cameras except those on Baumgartner's body. But organizers said there will be a 20-second delay in their broadcast of footage in case of a tragic accident.

WHAT COULD GO WRONG?

The balloon could rip. Problems with his pressure suit could cause a gruesome death.

WHEN DOES IT START?

The live feed is set to begin at 6:30 a.m. MDT/8:30 a.m. EDT.

WHEN IS LAUNCH?

Approximate launch is 6:57 a.m. MDT/8:57 a.m. EDT, weather permitting.

HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE?

The ascent could take up to three hours. He is expected to land between 10-10:30 a.m. MDT/12-12:30 p.m. EDT.

© Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Share:
  Comment  |
   Contact Us  |
  Print  
  Copy Shortlink
Around the Web
Join the Newsmax Community
>> Register to share your comments with the community.
>> Login if you are already a member.
blog comments powered by Disqus
 
Email:
Retype Email:
Country
Zip Code:
 
Hot Topics
Follow Newsmax
Like us
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Add us
on Google Plus
Around the Web
You May Also Like

Mars Rover Takes 'Selfie' After Spring Cleaning

Thursday, 17 Apr 2014 23:05 PM

A recent 'selfie' taken by the Mars rover Opportunity shows it is taking full advantage of the Martian winds' cleaning p . . .

High-Tech Surveillance System Blankets Boston For Marathon

Thursday, 17 Apr 2014 20:18 PM

A high-tech surveillance system consisting of cameras connected to a network that uses a form of artificial intelligence . . .

Study: Even Casually Smoking Marijuana Can Change Your Brain

Wednesday, 16 Apr 2014 14:26 PM

Casual use of marijuana can produce changes in parts of the brain associated with emotion and motivation, according to a . . .

Newsmax, Moneynews, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, NewsmaxWorld, NewsmaxHealth, are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

 
NEWSMAX.COM
America's News Page
©  Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved