Tags: health | care | glitch | outage

Feds: Social Security Computer Outage to Affect HealthCare.gov

Monday, 10 Feb 2014 03:51 PM

 

Share:
  Comment  |
   Contact Us  |
  Print  
|  A   A  
  Copy Shortlink

The Obama administration on Monday said people hoping to enroll in health coverage for March 1 may have trouble applying by Saturday's deadline because of a planned 62-hour maintenance shutdown of a Social Security Administration computer system.

The U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS), the lead Obamacare agency, said the shutdown will prevent applicants from verifying their Social Security numbers and other data through the federal website, HealthCare.gov. Those unable to enroll because of the outage can request special enrollment for coverage beginning March 1, CMS said.

The Social Security computer system will be down from 3 p.m. EST (2000 GMT) on Saturday until 5 a.m. EST (1000 GMT) on Tuesday, Feb. 18, CMS said. CMS said those who have already completed an application will still able to shop or select a plan through the website.

© 2014 Thomson/Reuters. All rights reserved.

Share:
  Comment  |
   Contact Us  |
  Print  
  Copy Shortlink
Around the Web
Join the Newsmax Community
Please review Community Guidelines before posting a comment.
>> Register to share your comments with the community.
>> Login if you are already a member.
blog comments powered by Disqus
 
Email:
Retype Email:
Country
Zip Code:
Privacy: We never share your email.
 
Hot Topics
Follow Newsmax
Like us
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Add us
on Google Plus
Around the Web
You May Also Like

Missouri Dems: Rand Paul Was Right - Ferguson Looked Like Fallujah

Thursday, 21 Aug 2014 22:13 PM

Sen. Rand Paul was right about the dangers of militarizing local police, two Missouri Democratic lawmakers concede.

Gen. Hayden to Newsmax: ISIS Vying for World Dominance With al-Qaida

Thursday, 21 Aug 2014 21:26 PM

The Islamic State (ISIS) is competing with al-Qaida and could easily attack the United States to establish itself as the . . .

Romney and Ryan Reunite in Chicago, Call for Fair Probe in Ferguson

Thursday, 21 Aug 2014 21:20 PM

Former GOP presidential candidate Mitt Romney and his running mate, Paul Ryan, are reuniting in Chicago in their first j . . .

Most Commented

Newsmax, Moneynews, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, NewsmaxWorld, NewsmaxHealth, are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

 
NEWSMAX.COM
America's News Page
©  Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved