Tags: Ben | Carson | CPAC | speaker

Top Neurosurgeon Ben Carson Tapped to Address CPAC

Wednesday, 27 Feb 2013 11:55 PM

By Bill Hoffman

Dr. Ben Carson — the renowned neurosurgeon who made headlines when he stood by President Barack Obama at the National Prayer Breakfast and criticized his healthcare and tax policies — will be the featured speaker at the Conservative Political Action Conference.

“Dr. Ben Carson represents the optimism and hope of the future of the conservative movement,” said Al Cardenas, chairman of the American Conservative Union, which will host the conference March 14-16 in suburban Washington, D.C.

“At the same time, he articulates the deep fiscal and social challenges that our nation faces. We look forward to welcoming Dr. Carson.”

Spending Cuts – Obama to Blame? Vote in Urgent Poll

The conference — the largest gathering of conservative leaders and activists in the United States — will feature speeches and policy discussions “celebrating the shared principles of smaller government, a strong national defense and traditional American values,” according to Cardenas.

Carson, director of pediatric neurosurgery at Johns Hopkins Hospital, is the author of five best-selling books, including “America the Beautiful,” and is a recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

As he delivered the keynote address Feb. 7 at the 2013 National Prayer Breakfast, Carson lashed out at the policies of the president, who was sitting nearby.

The physician called for health-savings accounts to be created at birth in place of Obamacare, as well as for the creation of a flat tax. In addition, he slammed the nation’s $16.5 trillion debt.

Other speakers at the conference — at the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center in National Harbor, Md. — include former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush, House Majority Leader Eric Cantor, Texas Sen. Ted Cruz, Heritage Foundation President-Elect Jim DeMint, and former House Speaker Newt Gingrich.

Also on the bill are Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal, Utah Sen. Mike Lee, Senate GOP Leader Mitch McConnell, former Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin, Kentucky Sen. Rand Paul, Texas Gov. Rick Perry, Florida Sen. Marco Rubio, Wisconsin Rep. Paul Ryan, former Pennsylvania Sen. Rick Santorum, and Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker.

The American Conservative Union, founded in 1964, is the oldest and largest grassroots conservative organization in the nation.

© 2015 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

Around the Web
Join the Newsmax Community
Please review Community Guidelines before posting a comment.
>> Register to share your comments with the community.
>> Login if you are already a member.
blog comments powered by Disqus
Zip Code:
Privacy: We never share your email.
Hot Topics
Follow Newsmax
Like us
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Add us
on Google Plus
Around the Web
Top Stories
You May Also Like

After Paris Attacks, Calls to Tighten US Visa Rules

Saturday, 31 Jan 2015 23:30 PM

U.S. politicians are calling for changes to a law that allows Europeans and other foreigners to enter the country withou . . .

Gov. Scott Walker Tops Iowa Poll After Freedom Summit Speech

Saturday, 31 Jan 2015 22:42 PM

A Des Moines Register poll shows Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker at the top of the pack of potential 2016 GOP nominees ahead . . .

Rep. Peter King's Terror Plan: 'Find Them and Kill Them'

Saturday, 31 Jan 2015 20:35 PM

The beheading of Japanese journalist Kenji Goto is a further wake-up call to the world and to America that we're not de . . .

Most Commented

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

America's News Page
©  Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved