Tags: jeb | bush | bradley | prize | epstein | meltzer | mansfield

Jeb Bush Wins Bradley Prize

Sunday, 10 Apr 2011 04:26 PM

Former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush is one of four winners of the prestigious Bradley Prize for 2011, The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation announced Sunday.

Bush will join the three other winners -- Harvard Government professor Harvey Mansfield, New York University Law Professor Richard Epstein and economist Allan Meltzer – in accepting the awards, each carrying a stipend of $250,000.

In honoring Bush, the award committee made special mention of his work in education reform in the Sunshine State.

“Governor Bush has been at the forefront of education reform,” said Michael W. Grebe, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Bradley Foundation. “During his administration and since, Florida students have made incredible gains. He has also been a vocal advocate for school choice.”

Prior to entering politics, Bush co-founded a small real estate development company which grew into the largest full-service commercial real estate firm in South Florida. After he left office, Gov. Bush founded the successful consulting business, Jeb Bush and Associates. He currently serves as Chairman of the Foundation for Excellence in Education.

“Through the Bradley Prizes, we recognize individuals like Jeb Bush, Richard Epstein, Harvey Mansfield and Allan Meltzer who have made outstanding contributions, in hopes that others will strive for excellence in their respective fields,” said Grebe.

Mansfield is one of the foremost experts on political philosophy in the nation. He has written on Edmund Burke and the nature of political parties, on Machiavelli and the invention of indirect government, in defense of a defensible liberalism and in favor of a Constitutional American political science.

Epstein, the Laurence A. Tisch Professor of Law at New York University, is an influential expert in constitutional law, health law and policy, property rights, and torts. He is considered to be one of the most influential thinkers in legal academia. He is well known for his research and writings on a broad range of constitutional, economic, historical, and philosophical subjects.

Meltzer, professor of Political Economy at Carnegie Mellon University's Tepper School of Business, is the author of dozens of academic papers and books on monetary policy and the Federal Reserve Bank. He is considered one of the world's foremost experts on the development and applications of monetary policy.

The award will be presented to Bush and the other honorees during a ceremony to be held at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C. on Wednesday, May 11.

The selection was based on nominations solicited from more than 200 prominent individuals across the country and chosen by a Selection Committee, which included Terry Considine, Pierre S. du Pont, Martin Feldstein, Robert P. George, Michael W. Grebe (Bradley Prizes Committee Chair), Charles Krauthammer, Dianne J. Sehler, Abigail Thernstrom and George F. Will.

Founded in 1985, The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation is devoted to strengthening American democratic capitalism and the institutions, principles and values that sustain and nurture it. Its programs support limited, competent government; a dynamic marketplace for economic, cultural activity; and a vigorous defense, at home and abroad, of American ideas and institutions. Recognizing that responsible self-government depends on enlightened citizens and informed public opinion, the Foundation supports scholarly studies and academic achievement.

© 2015 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

Around the Web
Join the Newsmax Community
Please review Community Guidelines before posting a comment.
>> Register to share your comments with the community.
>> Login if you are already a member.
blog comments powered by Disqus
Zip Code:
Privacy: We never share your email.
Hot Topics
Follow Newsmax
Like us
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Add us
on Google Plus
Around the Web
Top Stories
You May Also Like

Mali's Islamists Withdraw Cease-Fire Pledge

Friday, 04 Jan 2013 13:06 PM

Tens of thousands of Fatah supporters rallied in the Hamas stronghold of Gaza on Friday for the first time since they we . . .

Fmr. CIA Director Hayden: Iran Nuclear Crisis Gets 'Scarier'

Tuesday, 17 Jul 2012 18:11 PM

 . . .

Join Fmr. CIA Director for Special Iran Briefing, Assess the Danger

Friday, 13 Jul 2012 12:27 PM

 . . .

Most Commented

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

America's News Page
©  Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved