Tags: climate | bill | democrats

44 Democrats Broke With Obama on Climate Bill

Sunday, 28 Jun 2009 05:39 PM

The majority of the 52 House members who broke party ranks on Friday’s cap-and-trade climate change vote came from congressional districts that backed the presidential nominee of the opposite party in last year’s election.

Nearly all of these members will face competitive races in 2010, according to Congressional Quarterly, and many will likely brandish this ostensibly independent vote as evidence of their political independence.

Here’s the list of the 44 Democratic "no" votes that chose to go against their party leader, President Barack Obama. There were also 8 Republican "yes" votes. The bill

passed 219-212.

Among the Democrats who voted "no" and represent McCain-voting districts:

Bobby Bright, Parker Griffith and Artur Davis of Alabama.

Ann Kirkpatrick and Harry E. Mitchell of Arizona.

Marion Berry and Mike Ross of Arkansas.

John Salazar of Colorado

Jim Marshall of Georgia.

Walt Minnick of Idaho; Joe Donnelly and Brad Ellsworth of Indiana.

Charlie Melancon of Louisiana.

Travis W. Childers and Gene Taylor of Mississippi.

Eric Massa of New York.

Mike McIntyre of North Carolina.

Earl Pomeroy of North Dakota.

Charlie Wilson of Ohio.

Dan Boren of Oklahoma.

Jason Altmire, Christopher Carney and\Kathy Dahlkemper of Pennsylvania.

Stephanie Herseth Sandlin of South Dakota;

Lincoln Davis and John Tanner of Tennessee.

Chet Edwards of Texas.

Jim Matheson of Utah.

Alan B. Mollohan and Nick J. Rahall II of West Virginia.

(Davis is running for governor, Melancon is likely to challenge Republican

Sen. David Vitter and Herseth Sandlin is weighing a race for governor).

Among the Democrats who voted "no" and represent Obama-voting districts:

Jim Costa and Pete Stark of California.

John Barrow of Georgia.

Bill Foster of Illinois.

Peter J. Visclosky of Indiana.

Michael Arcuri of New York.

Larry Kissell of North Carolina.

Dennis J. Kucinich of Ohio.

Peter A. DeFazio of Oregon.

Ciro D. Rodriguez and Solomon P. Ortiz of Texas.

Glenn Nye of Virginia.

Republicans who voted "yes" and represent Obama-voting districts (7): Mary

Bono Mack of California; Michael N. Castle of Delaware; Mark Steven Kirk of

Illinois; Frank A. LoBiondo and Leonard Lance of New Jersey; John M. McHugh

of New York; Dave Reichert of Washington.

(Castle and Kirk are weighing bids for statewide office in their

Democratic-leaning states. Along with Reichert, they are three of the six

House Republicans who represent districts that voted Democratic for

president in both 2004 and 2008).

Republicans who voted "yes" and represent McCain-voting districts (1):

Christopher H. Smith of New Jersey.

© 2015 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

1Like our page

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

America's News Page
©  Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved