Tags: Health Overhaul Lawsuit

6 States to Join Obama Health Care Lawsuit in Fla.

Tuesday, 18 Jan 2011 07:09 PM

PENSACOLA, Fla. (AP) — Attorney General Pam Bondi says six more states will join Florida and 19 others in a lawsuit against the Obama administration's health care law.

Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Ohio, Wisconsin and Wyoming will join the coalition of states that have filed a lawsuit in federal court in Florida. Bondi's announcement Tuesday came as the U.S. House debated repealing the law.

The states claim the health care law is unconstitutional and violates people's rights by forcing them to buy health insurance by 2014 or face penalties.

Government attorneys say the states do not have standing to challenge the law and want the case dismissed.

Lawsuits have been filed elsewhere and it's expected the Supreme Court will ultimately have to resolve the issue.

© Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

1Like our page

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

America's News Page
©  Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved