Tags: 9 GOP Members with Ambition Nix Stop-Gap

9 GOP Members with Ambition Nix Stop-Gap

By Dan Weil   |   Wednesday, 16 Mar 2011 12:21 PM

Of the 54 House Republicans who voted against the leadership’s stop-gap budget bill, nine have declared or are considering running for statewide office, Politico reports. Apparently they don’t see much support for the resolution among their states’ voters.

The group includes Missouri Rep. Todd Akin, Utah Rep. Jason Chaffetz, Ohio Rep. Jim Jordan, Florida Rep. Connie Mack, and New Mexico Rep. Steve Pearce, all of whom are possible Senate candidates.

It also includes declared Senate candidates Jeff Flake of Arizona, Dean Heller of Nevada and Denny Rehberg of Montana. Indiana Rep. Mike Pence (pictured), a likely candidate for governor, also voted against the measure.

stop-gsp, bill, gop, higher,officeRehberg put the blame on Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid. "Despite already wasting well over a year, Harry Reid’s Senate hasn’t even managed to pass an alternative funding bill for consideration. Meanwhile, our nation’s future spirals down the drain in a sea of red ink,” he said.

© 2015 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

1Like our page

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

America's News Page
©  Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved