Tags: kentucky | derby | 2011 | race | kentucky derby 2011 | kentucky derby race | kentucky derby winners

Kentucky Derby 2011

Monday, 25 Apr 2011 11:49 AM

The Kentucky Derby, a horse race held annually in Louisville, Kentucky at Churchill downs, will take place this year on May 7.
The race is a Grade I stakes race designed for three-year-old Thoroughbred horses on a course that is one and a quarter mile long.
The race has become famously known as “The Run for the Roses” because of the blanket of roses laid over the winning horse. 
kentucky derby 2011
The Kentucky Derby is the first race in the Triple Crown of horse racing. The Preakness and Belmont Stakes follow. In order to win the Triple Crown, the horse must win all three.

© 2015 Newsmax. All rights reserved.

1Like our page

Newsmax, Moneynews, Newsmax Health, and Independent. American. are registered trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc. Newsmax TV, and Newsmax World are trademarks of Newsmax Media, Inc.

America's News Page
©  Newsmax Media, Inc.
All Rights Reserved