A gluten-free diet is the only way to prevent celiac disease and control further damage of the small intestine. However, individuals should not begin a gluten-free diet before they are diagnosed, as this can affect a doctor’s ability to identify the disease.
Going gluten-free may be a difficult adjustment, but there are plenty of foods that individuals with celiac disease can still enjoy. A gluten-free diet permits fruits and vegetables, potatoes, rice, maize, soy, amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, cassava, corn, flax, nuts, red meat, chicken, and fish.
Wheat, barley, and rye, which contain gluten, may be easily substituted with potato, soy, rice, amaranth, and buckwheat. Any food containing even traces of wheat flour should be avoided by sufferers of celiac disease.
These foods include soup, ice-cream, custard, malt vinegar, wheat germ oil, wheat starch, sauces, and even some medications. Check food and medicine labels for wheat flour before ingestion.
Preventing celiac disease is impossible due to its hereditary nature, but intestinal damage caused by the disease can be reversed, and further harm avoided through a gluten-free diet.
In some children, gluten intolerance disappears over time.
For more information on celiac disease, see below:
Celiac Disease Common in Kids With Type 1 Diabetes
© 2014 Newsmax. All rights reserved.